Carroll County Commissioners voted unanimously today to begin a 3 year transition from the Maryland State Police Resident Trooper Program to the Sheriff’s Department as the Primary Law Enforcement Agency in Carroll County.

The transition will begin on July 1, 2011 and will replace 15 Resident Troopers each year of the next three years with 14 Sheriff’s Deputies. On July 1, 2012, the Sheriff’s Department will be designated as Carroll County’s Primary Law Enforcement Agency.

Prior to the transition going forward, the Sheriff’s Department and Board of County Commissioners will execute a Memorandum of Understanding by January 31, 2011. The Commissioners are also requiring that the Sheriff’s Department and Maryland State Police complete a Transition Plan to be submitted to the County Commissioners by February 28, 2011.

In preparation for this transition, Commissioners approved funding for 9 new recruits for the Sheriff’s Department who will begin academy training next month.

Carroll County Board of Commissioners president and District 5 Commissioner Doug Howard stated, “This will save Carroll County millions of dollars and will give us the right structure for our law enforcement. This caps a very interesting three weeks and what I believe is a good start to the 59th Board of County Commissioners. We look forward to getting back after the holidays and pursuing an aggressive agenda to bring new leadership and better government to the citizens of Carroll County.”

blog comments powered by Disqus